SM Supermalls bag Hall of Fame of Award at Apolinario Mabini Awards

SM Supermalls recently bagged the Hall of Fame Award and 10 other recognitions during the 2015 Apolinario Mabini Awards for its unwavering support for the Persons with Disabilities (PWD) community.

The SM Team led by Shopping Center Management Corporation President Annie Garcia joined by Milagros Drilon, Manuel Agcaoili, and the Philippine Foundation for the Rehabilitation of the Disabled Board

The Hall of Fame award, given for the first time, was conferred by His Excellency, President Benigno S. Aquino in Malacanang last September 29. During the awarding, the SM Cares’ Program for PWDs was recognized for its efforts which go “beyond full compliance” of PWD laws as a “catalyst for change”.

True to its commitment of creating a ‘mall for all’, SM continues to build a barrier-free environment in its malls, similarly providing a place where customers with special needs can feel safe and welcome.

This year, 10 SM malls were recognized for being PWD-friendly establishments. They are: SM Aura Premier which received a silver award and SM City Clark (Supermalls); SM Makati Supermarket and SM Tarlac Supermarket (Supermarket); Mezza Savemore (SM Markets); and SM Bacolod, SM BF Paranaque, SM Cauayan and SM North EDSA (SM Department Store) received bronze awards. A special award was also given to SM Pampanga.

The Apolinario Mabini Awards was established by the Philippine Foundation for the Rehabilitation of the Disabled, a non-profit organization that promotes measures to prevent disability, protect and rehabilitate the disabled, and equalize opportunities for disabled persons.